A large number of our student population use the Snapchat App.
Snapchat has just released its new Snap Map feature that can share your location with Snapchat friends via a map. The feature is off by default. Once you opt-in it only shares your location with people you´ve friended on Snapchat and your location isn´t public, but anyone who knows your location could share it with others. Whatever audience you´re sharing with can see your location updated, every time you open the Snapchat app, regardless of whether you send them or anyone else a Snap.
It is advised that parents talk with their children about the safe use of this feature, which can include leaving it off (Ghost Mode) or carefully limiting which of their friends can see their location and reviewing that periodically, a friend can become an ex-friend.